Please note: You are viewing an archive of the City of Somerville's previous website. Please visit our new website at for the latest & most accurate information about the City of Somerville.
Search Site
Somerville Top Banner
Home Departments Residents Businesses Government

Spotlight Charter Advisory Committee

July 2008

The Charter Advisory Committee was convened by Mayor Joseph A. Curtatone to examine the City of Somerville's current municipal charter and make recommendations aimed at modernizing city government. The committee will meet regularly over the next six months and will solicit input from elected officials, City staff and Somerville residents. The committee will present its recommendations to Mayor Curtatone. The Board of Aldermen (BOA) will then vote on the recommendations. Following a favorable vote by the BOA the recommendations will be voted on by the state legislature and finally, by the residents of Somerville.

Charter Advisory Committee Membership:

  • Chair: Howard E. Horton, Esq., President of the New England College of Finance
  • Board of Alderman Representative: Alderman-at-Large William White
  • School Committee Representative: School Committee Chair Paul Bockelman
  • Academia Representative: David Luberoff, Executive Director of the Rappaport Institute for Greater Boston at Harvard University
  • Business Community Representative: Isaac Machado, Esq., attorney at Epstein, Lipsey & Clifford and member of the Somerville Chamber of Commerce

Appointed by Mayor Curtatone:

  • Jacques A. Dessin, Esq.
  • Mary Jeka, Esq., Vice President for University Relations at Tufts University
  • Jeff Levine, Director of Planning and Community Development, Town of Brookline

Appointed by Alderman Dennis Sullivan:

  • Gerry McCue, Executive Director for Administration and Finance for the City of Chelsea's Public Schools
  • Greg Nadeau, Special Projects Consultant at ESP Solutions Group

For more information on this process or to provide ideas or suggestions please contact Matthew Dias at 617-625-6600 ext. 2105 or